Winners and heroes | TRAHC recognizes the artists, notable supporters of the year

TEXARKANA, Texas – The Texarkana Regional Council for the Arts and Humanities recently announced the winners of its 33rd Annual Jury Show. Winners have also been announced for the TRAHC Hero Awards.

The winners of the juried exhibitions were announced at an opening reception on August 6. With representation from Canada and states across the country, this year’s selection of artists by juror Dr. Becky Black made it an international spectacle. Work ranges from metal installation to paintings, stained glass, fiber arts and more.

“Last year we had a smaller show due to COVID, but this year we’re back,” said Amanda Langley, TRAHC visual arts assistant before the show opened, “and three times bigger”.

This year’s nominations come from artists from Canada, Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Hawaii, Illinois, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Minnesota, New Mexico, New York, Oklahoma, Texas, Virginia and Washington.

Their art is displayed on the three floors of the Regional Arts Center, which is open from noon to 4 p.m., Wednesday through Saturday.

This year’s juror, Black, is an associate professor and head of the art history department at Rocky Mountain College of Art + Design in Denver, Colorado. She previously headed the visual arts programming at TRAHC.

The winners were:

Honorable Mention: “Alchemist,” Anna Zusman of Magnolia, Arkansas;

Honorable Mention: “Family,” Steve Hall of New Blaine, Arkansas;

Honorable mention: “Kai”, Kelsi Brinkmeyer of Texarkana, Texas;

Fourth place: “Counterpoint”, Norman Carr from Wichita, Kansas;

Third Place: “Driftwood # 1”, Julie England from Dallas, Texas;

Second place: “Covid 16”, Roger Walkup from Baltimore, Maryland;

First Place: “Black and White and Gray,” Carol Irving from Escanaba, Michigan;

FaEllen and Jim Yates Collection Purchase Prize: “Cruising Woodward”, Terri DeNatale of Linden, Texas;

Best of Show: “Mill at Night”, Timothy Tyler of Bentonville, Arkansas.

The TRAHC Hero Award winners will be recognized on Saturday, September 11, prior to The Muses ‘Broken Standards: Fascinating Rhythm’ show at the Regional Arts Center.

“Our TRAHC Hero Awards are presented annually to recognize some of the amazing partners, sponsors and volunteers who help keep TRAHC on track! We love and respect all of the winners and are delighted to honor them for their service to us and the arts community. Jennifer Unger, Interim Executive Director of TRAHC, said in a statement.

The winner of the Best of Show award is “Mill at Night” by Timothy Tyler of Bentonville, Arkansas. (Photo submitted)

The winners of the TRAHC Hero Award and special recognitions are as follows:

Ron Mills, Leadership Award;

Patterson-Troike Foundation, Artistic Partners Award;

Katy Hays, Arts Educator Award;

Chris Thomas, ArtsSmarts Award;

Treva West, Champion of the Arts Award;

Darlene Taylor, Champion of the Arts Award;

Jes Weiner, Young Creative Cool Award;

DeAnna Craytor with Women for the Arts, special recognition for leadership;

Lynn Whitt with Women for the Arts, Special Leadership Recognition.

(More info: or 903-792-8681.)

About Glenn Gosselin

Glenn Gosselin

Check Also

The playful visions of Claudia Cave | Oregon ArtsWatch

In terms of area, and even if it occupies two rooms, Claudia Cave: Interiors and …