People from the north of the country | Community Notes

People from the north

Armed forces

The following members of the Northern National Guard have recently received promotions: Autumn Davis, Depauville, 206th Military Police Company, promoted to private; Emily Heiland, Fine, Headquarters and Headquarters Company, 427th Brigade Support Battalion, promoted to Private 1st Class; and Lleyton Ladue, Massena, A Company, 2nd Battalion, 108th Infantry, promoted to Private 1st Class.


Dr. Pearl Hersh, an emergency medicine specialist, joined the staff of St. Lawrence Health, practicing at Canton-Potsdam Hospital, Potsdam, Gouverneur Hospital and Massena Hospital. Dr Hersh received a medical degree from New York Medical College, Westchester; completed residency training with Christiana Care Health System, Newark, Del .; completed a clinical rotation in international medicine with the medical center in Tel Aviv, Israel; and in 2019, participated in the European Congress of Emergency Medicine, Prague, Czech Republic.

Joanne Atkinson, medical assistant, has joined the medical staff at the Carthage region hospital. Ms. Atkinson received a BA in Biology, Minor in Chemistry, from Clarkson University, Potsdam; and a master’s degree in medical assistant studies; and completed several clinical rotations at Claxton-Hepburn Medical Center, Ogdensburg; Lewis County General Hospital, Lowville; and the Carthage region hospital.


Omar A. Gonzalez Sanchez of Fort Drum, Jefferson Community College Fellow Phi Theta Kappa was named a Coca-Cola Leaders of Promise Fellow in 2021, including a $ 1,000 scholarship.

Sarah Roux, Watertown, has been named to the Spring Semester Dean’s List at Seton Hall University, South Orange, NJ

The following Northerners have been named to the Summer Semester Dean’s List at St. Lawrence University, Canton: Hailey Alvarado, Watertown, Performing and Communication Arts; Megan Beyor, Carthage, psychology; Grace Cicchinelli, Saint Regis Falls, computer science; Mike Corbitt, South Colton, English; Hannah Drechsel, Potsdam, economics and business; Keith Felix, Colton, history and government; Ally Giorgi, Waddington, psychology; Sydney Harris, DeKalb Junction, Performance and Communication Arts and English; Gabi Jones, Potsdam; Hunter LaClair, Watertown, government; and Cassandra Pryce, Governor, Art and Art History.

Lucas Piroli, Black River; Madyson Amo, Cape Vincent; and Gavin Woolford, Fort Drum, have been named to Salisbury (Md.) College’s Spring Semester Dean’s List.

Brian Mitchell, Ogdensburg, received a Certificate in Substance Abuse Counseling from Cazenovia College.

The following Northerners have been named to the Summer Semester Dean’s List at the University of Southern New Hampshire, Manchester, NH: Sashalis McCutcheon, Watertown; Shelby Sonnenfeld, Fort Drum; Ashfaque Hussain, Watertown; Timothy Wood, Evans Mills; Jessica Archer, Watertown; Shannon Newhouse, calcium; Erica Ingram, Fort Drum; and Joshua Jonas, Philadelphia.

The following Northerners have been named to the Summer Semester President’s List at the University of Southern New Hampshire, Manchester, NH: Jillian Davis, Watertown; Heather Kidder, Carthage; Ashley Jonas, Watertown; Alex Bak, Watertown; Michael Ryave, Calcium; Lindsey Rogers, Fort Drum; Dilbar Dustova, Evans Mills; Madilyn Shirley, Carthage; Rebecca Thompson, DeKalb Junction; Grace Mashaw, Ogdensburg; Kali Messick, Evans Mills; Sydnie Plamondon, Adams; Ashley Swanson, Hammond; Iesha VanBuren, Evans Mills; Siriwat Vongtip, Watertown; Danielle Doldo, Watertown; Corey Kovach, Masséna; Ahmed Sohail, Fort Drum; Kenneth Taylor, Lisbon; Trevor Bickford, Fort Drum; Nichole Bell, Governor; Palma Gioeli, Fort Tambour; Mary Ryan, LaFargeville; Meghan Stacy, Fort Drum; Ashley Witherell, Watertown; Joseph Hazelton, Chase Mills; Jorge Diaz, Watertown; and Sarah Hayden, Star Lake.

The following northern residents have graduated from SUNY ONeonta: Maggie Christy, Canton, Bachelor, Early Childhood Education / Early Childhood Education and Early Childhood Education / Childhood Honors; Vanessa Foulke, Lowville, bachelor’s degree, art and design, mention summa cum laude; Jordan Kapfer, Harrisville, Masters, Education – Educational Technology Specialist; Emily LaGarry, Massena, BA, Fashion and Textiles, Summa Cum Laude Honors; Abigail Pierce, master, nutrition and dietetics; and Paige Ward, Castorland, Masters, Literacy (Grades 5 to 12).


Sackets Harbor Central School Senior Kristina Donders recently received the 2021 New York State Reality Check Youth Ambassador of the Year (YAYA) award. Miss Donders was honored for her work planning and working on events to raise awareness of the impact of tobacco and prevention of use. She met with state legislatures in Albany and traveled to Richmond, Virginia to meet with fellow Reality Check members to demonstrate at an Altria Groop shareholders meeting.

As an Amazon Associate, I earn income on qualifying purchases.

About Glenn Gosselin

Glenn Gosselin

Check Also

Santa Fe Area Artists Plan Their Own Spanish Winter Market | Local News

ABIQUIÚ – Charles Carrillo wants to reunite his family – in Santa Fe, in Catholic …